MY AWADHI DINE.

Hello everyone, welcome back to my another post!

So this time I wanted to  try different cuisine,Awadhi. So basically Awadhi cuisine is native to the city of Nawab’s, Lucknow(uttar pradesh,India).

Awadhi has a very long history in its culinary arts which has been running through many generation by following it’s own tradition. So let’s talk less and eat more!😁.So I’ve been to a place called Jashn-e- Audh.

image

 

As keeping it’s tradition in mind everything there was served in heavy brass plates and glasses which was quite interesting and trust me they even cook in brass utensils… isn’t that cool!?😃.

So let’s move on to mouthwatering Awadhi food.

They started by serving me the welcome drink called Aam ka panna.

image

                       AAM KA PANNA

This was like a green mango mocktail with lil cubes of raw mango in it. It was sweet, tangy, and very refreshing.

Next comes Shorba

image

             MURGH AWADHI SHORBA

So basically MURGH means chicken in urdu language. SHORBA is a chicken soup which is cooked on a low flame for few hours. I must say it had a very strong flavour of spices. It was hot, strong, delicious!👍🏻

They were also few sides like salads,roasted papad, bhuna raita, pickle.

image

Then Starters were on the table, there were 4 Starters, 2 vegetarian and 2 non vegetarian.

image

HARIYALI PANEER TIKKA & MAKAI TIKKI

image

TANDOORI CHICKEN & LAHSOONI FISH

All the Starters were soo good that I ate all twice, I really liked the tandoori chicken and fish because the meat was very tender, juicy, soft, and very flavourful!

Now it’s time for main course. They were vegetarian and also non vegetarian.

image

                     ACHAARI PANEER

image

       ALOO JEERA, ACHAARI PANEER,

                        SUBZ NIZAMI

image

                      BAOLI MUTTON

This was one of their special dish. This was made by cooking the meat (lamb) for 4-5 hours on a very low flame and then adding few veggies and again simmering for 1-2 hours on low flame where around 20 India whole spices were added. Seriously guys it literally took 7 hours to cook this single dish.  There’s a saying in lucknow “Slow cooking always turns into good and delicious food”. ‘Wow’ is what I said when I had the first bite of it! The lamb was sooo tender that the meat was coming out of the bone very easily. I was getting that complete taste of spices, I won’t say that it was attacking my palate but I could sense that mix of spices and amazing flavour of meat!

image

              MURGH PISTE KA SALAN

Even here they cooked the chicken for couple of hours and spices, but the thing is that they added a load of pista paste (pistachio)! This was really something different, I was wondering that even chicken could be made in this way…. It was really soo satisfying.Super delicious flavor of pista and other spices. It was spicy, sweet, smooth. Every bite was giving me so much of satisfaction😋.

And those could be eaten with either Rice or ROTI.

image

            MURGH AWADHI BIRIYANI

This was one of my most liked dish. I never had this kind of biriyani till date! As according to the mentioned saying, even this was cooked on low flame for long time. And guys let me tell you one thing every Awadhi dish is cooked with loads of Ghee( clarified butter) when I say loads it really means a loads…! So here the biriyani was cooked with adding loads of Ghee, kesar (saffron) and milk and other regular ingredients. I was mesmerized with the first spoon of it! It really tastes soo.. good that I cannot put into words! Very tasty and super delicious biriyani, I’ll give it a 10/10.

image

                     GOBI KI TIHARI

This was a vegetarian dish where cauliflower is replaced with meat and a masala pulao is made with many spices. Yeah for vegetarians it’s really good! Being a hard core non vegetarian even I enjoyed eating this.

image

                       BUTTER NAAN

Last but not the least… desserts!

image

                  GULKAND JAMUN

Basically it was a kind of gulaab jamun made differently, the filling inside of that jamun was of gulkand( sweet pan masaala).

Trust me it really tastes nice. First the Sweet fluffy jamun comes and then the flavour of gulkand. Amazing combination guys👌🏻👌🏻!

image

           MANGO MADNESS PASTRY

image

                      LECHEE PHIRNI

Actually it’s made out of cooked rice which is mashed and then roasted nicely with kheer and sugar and also with Lechee. Garnished with few roasted dry fruits in Ghee.Very sweet and smooth.

image

                VANILLA ICE CREAM

Over all what I can say is that I’ve tried a very authentic cuisine of India and this was my first time trying AWADHI CUISINE. I was in paradise!!!

So guys If you liked reading my post so make sure you hit the like button and please do subscribe my channel. And stay tuned for my next post where I’ll be hunting for another delicious cuisine!! Cya…until next time😁✌🏻.

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

